What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shop online?

In these times of technological breakthrough, everything has become online, including shopping. But in this race, our local vendors are lagging behind. Although there are many benefits to shopping online such as time-saving, convenience to list a few, there are disadvantages also. In this essay, I would discuss how we can help small community shops, also the merits and demerits of online shopping in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, the regional shops are facing a hard time attracting customers with the increasing trend of online shopping. In turn, affecting their income. They already earn hand to mouth compared to big brand companies; hence, are in dire need of support. This can be done by advertising their products which spread awareness and acquaint people about their needs. In addition to this, they should endeavour to bring in quality products which would raise a good word of mouth, after all, quality speaks louder than the brand, instead quality makes the brand.

Talking about online shopping, there are tons of benefits for both people and companies. Firstly, for customers, they do not have to go anywhere which saves their time and money. Moreover, it is convenient as one can do it at their own pace at any time, with no opening or closing hours. Secondly, for companies, they are not required to build stores with appealing infrastructure; thus, no need to hire cashiers or store maintenance staff which would decrease their significant amount of cost.

But online shopping is also not without its drawbacks. From times immemorial, shopping has been a great way of socializing, especially for women. Further, individuals can not touch a product or can not try it. Besides, they can not grab the product instantly, instead, they had to wait for a few days to get it. To add to it, if the product is not up to our expectations, the refund and return are also cumbersome. Companies also have to face some difficulties, such as some customer lies that they did not receive the item, so they have to either refund it or resend it. Also, the competition is so high that they have to introduce new strategies regularly to increase their sales. Timely deliveries and producing expected quality is a great challenge.

To encapsulate, the producer and sellers of local products are facing a hard time to attract customers hence we should give them a try otherwise these would vanish. Irrefutably, online shopping is easy and convenient but it is taking away our time which we used to spend with our friends and family to do shopping.