University should be free for all students. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Tertiary education has increasingly been considered by many students to set their career. However, does thus mean that it is necessary to provide university education free-of-cost for all it’s students? In this essay I will argue that while there may be many benefits from this idea, it is not absolutely reasonable to educate everyone joining the university without any tuition fee.

Firstly, providing free education will unquestionably encourage children to pursue their higher education. Consequently, the literacy rate will drastically increase. In Germany, for example, universities offer free tuition for all of their students; thus, it is the destination for most, if not all, of the international students who wish to study in foreign universities.

Although free education will be a boon to many pupils, I would rather suggest providing it to those who deserve it. Conducting a qualifying examination for cost less education will indeed provoke the competition among students and in turn improve the quality of education.

Despite bringing many positive changes to the society, free education would possibly decline the competitiveness in the student population. Therefore, I would personally put forth the system of selecting the best qualifying students to utilise the free education provided by the universities.