Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.
Do you agree or disagree?
I tend to agree that young children can be negatively affected by too much time spent on the
computer every day. This is partly because sitting in front of a screen for too long can be damaging
to both the eyes and the physical posture of a young child, regardless of what they are using the
computer for.
However, the main concern is about the type of computer activities that attract children. These are
often electronic games that tend to be very intense and rather violent. The player is usually the
‘hero’ of the game and too much exposure can encourage children to be self-centred and
insensitive to others.
Even when children use a computer for other purposes, such as getting information or emailing
friends, it is no substitute for human interaction. Spending time with other children and sharing nonvirtual experiences is an important part of a child's development that cannot be provided by a
computer.
In spite of this, the obvious benefits of computer skills for young children cannot be denied. Their
adult world will be changing constantly in terms of technology and the Internet is the key to all the
knowledge and information available in the world today. Therefore it is important that children learn
at an early age to use the equipment enthusiastically and with confidence as they will need these
skills throughout their studies and working lives.
I think the main point is to make sure that young children do not overuse computers. Parents must
ensure that their children learn to enjoy other kinds of activity and not simply sit at home, learning to
live in a virtual world.