Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days.

What are the reasons for this?

What can be done to tackle this problem?

It is true that walking has a number of positive effects on a person’s health; however, the amount of people taking a walk is decreasing day by day. In this essay, I am going to consider why it is happening and what measures can be taken in order to encourage the public to walk more.

The main reason of reducing of a walking habit among citizens is that modern people are living in a high-speed society where everyone trying to accomplish a great deal of goals. As a result, a lot of individuals are living in a state of rush and completely neglect their health. In addition, nowadays vehicles have become much cheaper in a contrast with previous decades and a huge amount of people own cars or motorcycles and consider more convenient to move by car rather than on foot. For instance, when my brother had bought a car, he started to use it even in a short distance, such as a convenient store two blocks from our house.

Nevertheless, the authorities may address this issue by implementing high transport taxes for those who is using automobiles inside a city. Thus, it would be more advantageous to walk than use a transport. As well as this, social media should promote walking and other physical exercises explaining to the general public how they are beneficial for human health especially in terms of combating obesity and cardiovascular diseases. To illustrate, as it is known, today, a great number of people have got medical conditions related to overweight, but they are not aware that 20 minutes’ walk per day may significantly improve their state of health. Thus, it would be helpful to enlighten them through mass media and press.

In conclusion, lack of walking among habitats of a country is caused by a fast pace of the modern society and absence of necessity to walk due to a boost in the vehicle production industry. Meanwhile, this trend can be reduced by promotion of health benefits from such a simple thing as brisk walking.