Water scarcity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? And what soultions can be done by individuals and the government?

Shortage of water has damaging consequences around the world. This essay would discuss that the main causes of this problem are overpopulation and industrialization, and the most viable solution to this concern is to put legal restrictions on the usage of water and to create awareness programs.

Cities are becoming overcrowded which leads to shortage of water resources on large scale. This is because, the demand of people to use water is constantly increasing in comparison to static reserved water and people often waste water in domestic activities. Furthermore, in many developing countries, many new textile and food industries are being set up and they pollute large proportion of useful water. That is to say, these industrial projects leads to significant amount of waste generation, which comprises of water as the main component. For example, in India, it was recently reported by the mass media that on an average 82 percent of water pollution was resulted from factories across the country.

The principle issue of water pollution can be addressed by setting legal limits on its usage. It is the prime responsibility of government to charge some fine or taxes from companies and organisations those who are involved in creating enormous shortage of water. In addition, schools can teach young generation to behave responsibily towards the pollution of water. By following this method, the adverse situation can be managed because children are more likely to teach their parents to utilize water in a responsible manner so that the future generations would no longer strive from water scarcity. For instance, the same initiative was taken in Germany where school learners were taught about the importance of water for mankind and this has created a significant reduction in the amount of water pollution.

In conclusion, it can be stated that the irresponsible consumption by the more number of men and women and the proliferation of industrialisation are main reasons for this global issue. It is therefore suggested that the state authorities should charge penalty from the firms for overutilization of water and present generation should be encourgaed to actively participate in conserving water resources.