Wealth does not necessarily guaranty happiness.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Provide reasons for your answer. Include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people think that more money means more happiness. This is not necessarily true. Wealth, on one hand, does add many luxuries in our lives but on the other hand, it also disconnects us from the simple joys of life. I believe that it makes one pursue material happiness and one ends up being alone, which is definitely not a happy state.

Wealth does bring certain benefits with it, for instance, if we are financially sound we can go to school and colleges of our choice. One can explore various exotic travel destinations which we are all aware are not cheap. A wealthy background does bring in better and more opportunities as well. It helps us in making influential acquaintances as well, which helps us to escalate professionally. To infer, we can say that many star kids already have their future secured. They can venture into any exciting activity they wish.

We can still not say that wealth guarantees happiness because we have seen many wealthy and successful people often committing serious steps like suicide. Not all wealthy people are happy. Wealth makes people so materialistic that they become too conscious about their status in society. In order to gain wealth, many young professionals often become victims of exploitation as well. People often drive themselves in the maddening race of acquiring wealth and often miss the little joys of life. Wealth often devoid people of the simpler and natural joys of life.

Hence, we can say that although some financial security is necessary for life that doesn’t mean that the poor cannot be happy. Happiness is a state of mind. It doesn't depend on the amount of money one carries in their pockets, otherwise, we will never be able to see a smile on the face of the poor.