Wealth does not necessarily guaranty happiness.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Provide reasons for your answer. Include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often said by many that having a lot of money or assets can allow humans to remain happy and content. However, a life without wealth does not actually mean people have a life full of struggle and unhappiness. Happiness can be found in other aspects of our existence such as looking after our family or close friends, and helping people without expecting anything in return.

It depends on individuals interest to experience happiness. For instance, some people may not have a big house to live in or a luxurios car, but they may have a family with many siblings and relatives. It is not uncommon to have someone in our life, especially who are close to us, who have a good job but not a professional one and is still satisfied with what he or she is earning. Such individuals find joy and laughter in simple things such as helping their parents at home or their work, looking after brothers and sisters. The amount of satisfaction they receive in spending time with their close acquaintance is enormous.

Moreover, people who are already in a well settled positions, who earn a lot of money such as doctors, lawyers and accountants, are enjoying and providing their services to other people not because they get huge revenue from it, they do it with the intent to help people. Making someone else’s life easy and happy is the prize they want in return than money. For example, I have few friends who are doctors and nurses. They volunteer to help people who are in desperate need of medical attention. Such people’s happiness is in helping or benefiting others.

On the whole, having enough money or living a lavish life is not the only way happiness can be attained. Happiness is found in simple things that we already are gifted with. Such as helping people and having a family with many brothers and sisters.