What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning a foreign language at an early age?

Learning English at primary school or even earlier is getting more popular around the world. This essay will suggest that the development of cognitive skills is the best advantage of thIS a lack of ф structured curriculum is a primary disadvantage.

The main benefits of learning a language at an early age is the enhancement of memorizing skills and the awareness of how languages work. Due to the fact that acquiring and mastering a foreign language is impossible without remembering its words, a child will improve their memory. Moreover, learning another tongue can facilitate the acquisition of other languages because of the similarity between them. Statistics from AVL site state that those who have a good command of at least one non-native language study another one faster approximately by 10 percent.

On the other hand, the key disadvantage is that preschoolers and primary school students could experience a lot of problems if the school curriculum lacks structure. It is not of rare occurrence that children are confused because of the inorganisation of the process. Unqualified tutors may fail to design a well-rounded course.

In conclusion, learning English at an early age can be advantageous only if the process is well-organised.