Problems of modern universities

The text under the headline “Designing a university for the new millennium” published in YouTube channel dedicated to the Ted talks is devoted to the problem of modern tertiary education.

The author of the article takes a critical view of the condition the situation in which higher educational institutions have found themselves today. According to the author, universities have moved away from their original task, which was to open new minds for further prospects. Modern students now in the center of fierce competition, which is why even an ordinary question that they ask at a seminar can show their incompetence. According to the speaker, as it turned out, they pay for a diploma and degree, not for knowledge. After assessing the situation and being horrified by it, the author decided to open his own university, which will meet all the necessary canons. In this educational institution, the educational program differs from the usual one, but at the same time it trains highly qualified specialists.

The author draws the following conclusion that the goal of modern universities and students should not be to get a piece of paper for the sake of a future workplace, but first of all, to develop themselves as a person, their mind and intellect.