What are the factors which are related to academic success in high-school students?

It is a fact that every high school student has his/her own different capacity in terms of academic study. Some students might have good results in arts while others might be good at science or mathematics. However, despite the subject that the student likes, there are several factors that will affect to his/her achievements, and the following essay will discuss them in details.

Firstly, it is important for students to get some attention from their parents. Some parents do spend times for discussing the projects at school, share the knowledge and give some advice to their children. Many people do not realise that these kinds of simple activities could influence and motivate children in achieving their best results at school.

Secondly, teachers should not rank some subjects at school. Some teachers believe that subjects such as mathematics or sciences are more superior than arts or physical educations. This kind of attitude should be prohibited at schools, as some students might perform well at sports while others are good at literature. Instead of classifying some subjects, teachers should learn to acknowledge the talent of their students and support them.

Last but not least, high-school students should have a positive mindset. They should focus on studying all subjects that are taught at school, though some of them might not be their favourite subjects. They should understand clearly that all courses will be useful for them in the future. For example, although some students might become professional doctors in the future, it is important for them to study about accounting as well since they have to manage their own financial matters.

In conclusion, there are many factors that affect the academic success of a secondary school student. But in my opinion, the three important factors are the supportive parents, teachers’ fairness and the positive mindset of the student him/herself.