What factors are related to academic success in high school students?

Write at least 250 words.

High school is a critical time in the life of young people. On the one hand, teenagers are eager to enjoy their freedom and independence. On the other hand, they must be disciplined enough to keep their priorities straight. In my opinion, three social institutions impact high school students the most at this vulnerable time: the family, peer group and school.

First, the family plays the central role by providing the backdrop in a young person's life. A positive family environment provides love, support and encouragement for the student to do his/her best. Simultaneously, the family aims to instill discipline and ambition in the child. The influence and expectations of family members remain paramount at this time and throughout a young person's life.

Second, as a child turns into a teenager, the peer group begins to play an increasingly important role in his/her life. The friendships one develops at this highly sensitive stage can affect ones attitude to studies, authority, society and the world. In the right company, young people can get involved in positive activities that support their academic performance. With the wrong crowd, teenagers could develop a host of unhealthy and dangerous habits which impact not only their grades but all aspects of their lives.

Lastly, the school itself is a deciding factor in the student's academic success. A variety of elements determine how the students feel about school: the teachers, the staff, the facilities, the subjects, the text books, the method of instruction and more. All of these have a significant impact on the young person's motivation to excel.

In conclusion, high school success is the product of various influences. We are all fortunate that, aside from a few unfortunate exceptions, the majority of students worldwide aspire to do well and grow up to become active and healthy participants in the world around them.