When international media (including movies, fashion shows, advertisements and other TV programs) convey the same messages to the global audience, people argue that the expansion of international media has negative impacts on cultural diversity. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, as international media companies expand across the world, some media programs (TV shows, movies, fashion shows) are becoming more and more popular, which lead to worldwide interest. Many people have strong view toward this trend. I believe that globalization through the media has many advantages. However, it certainly poses a threat to cultural diversity.

On the one hand, international media is a source of useful knowledge and information. It gives people the opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of the diverse cultures and lifestyles in the world. They can exchange languages and habits of different cultures so that they understand each other easily, helping people from all over the world to get closer, reduce social prejudice among nations. Besides that, international media paves the way for different countries to build relationships base on cultural understanding. For example, Asia was a once mystery to the rest of the world due to differences in cultural customs and religious beliefs. Over time, thanks to local government open policies and international media, the number of Asians living and working in different parts of the world has increased.

On the other hand, international media deliver messages that can hinder cultural diversity. As a matter of fact, people are tending to imitate the lifestyles of other cultures. For example, young people, especially teenagers are copying the customs of famous stars appearing on shows. This trend makes everyone same to be same and eventually lose the cultural identity of a nation.

In conclusion, media has double-edged impacts on the society (while it profoundly enhances people’s knowledge, its detrimental impacts on the community are thought-provoking). From my perspective, people should not go in deep with it but entertain it within the limit to avoid its drawbacks.