More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with the advent of computers and the widespread use of the internet, working at home become popular among workers around the world. This could bring both benefits and drawbacks for people’s development.

On the one hand, employees who work from their accommodation would have more hours to complete the task, especially those whose house are quite far from their offices, they can distance themselves from unexpected factors such as traffic congestion which can cause them to be late. Because they spend more time working hard, their performances get better. Besides that, due to working in the house, workers would have a private atmosphere and feel comfortable and free, so they pay attention to the duties. Moreover, in modern society, almost staffs are lack of break to eat breakfast which is the most important meal of day, so working from home is a viable solution to help employees improve their health.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned advantages, working from home is also causes a lot of losses for a number of reasons. Firstly, numerous staffs become lazier because they have more hours at home and they often wake up late. Secondly, they would miss the desired opportunities to gain experience from colleagues, boost their soft skills such as communication and teamwork, which is really important for the development of everyone. Finally, due to lack of communication with people, they become afraid to interact with others and gradually they would be autistic.

In conclusion, I believe that work-from-home jobs brings both advantage and disadvantage for employees as well as employers depend on the specific situation.