Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

You should write at least 250 words.

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Rigorous punishments and stringent laws are extremely important to control crimes; otherwise society would not be a safe place to live in. I accord with this notion although punishment is not the only solution to curb crimes that I will explain in my further paragraphs.

Every life has a right to live without any fear and hesitation in his/her society. However, existence of criminals or offenders make people's life miserable, which are the hindrance to our freedom. For instance, a thief can steal someone's hard earn money, while he is not at home or while walking in dark street alone. This act of robbery can ruin some innocent one's life. In fact, robber may kill him/her if he/she opposes. To control such heinous act, strict punishment such as capital punishment is essential for the society. To illustrate, Dubai is a country where robbery would lead to death punishment as a result such crime rate is almost nil, whereas in India, theft cases are the highest, as there is no such strict law.

However, can anyone assure that capital punishment would help to curb crimes like theft, rape murder? We must find the root cause of such heinous act. Major issues of each criminal are that they are from deprive background, have poor education and unable to find job for daily earning. There are several ways to tackle these issues. Firstly, government must identify the skill gap and facilities among deprive society. Then, if proper education and job opportunities are given to all low earning people, they can earn daily wages. Secondly, mind-set of society towards criminals must be changed, as people hesitate to offer work to criminal. Even though a criminal wants to live a healthy life after a crime, society forces him/her to go back to his dark world due to lack of opportunity.

To sum up, although stringent punishment like death penalty is essential to control crime rate and to have a safe society, educational facility and job opportunity should also be given to them so that they can healthy life style.