Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have differing views with regards to advertising. While I accept that it sometimes can help us to make a decision to buy something, I believe that its drawbacks overweigh benefits.

On the one hand, we could learn and know a completely new product from a variety of advertising media, such as television, internet, and posters. Sometimes we may find it useful to help us to improve the quality of our life. For example, people did not know anything about electric toothbrush when it was introduced to China several years ago. If we did not see any kinds of advertisements about this new thing, we would not know that these electric toothbrushes could make your teeth cleaner and more health, and would not choose to buy it.

On the other hand, People always buy something that they finally find it is useless. In order to draw attention from customers, many businesses tend to display too much about a product’s beneficial qualities rather than its real qualities. As a result, most customers would be attracted by these kinds of ads as advertisers can always catch people’s interest. Toy ads, For example, are described as being extremely interesting and enjoyable, and most parents would spend money on their children. Many toys they buy due to attractive ads will be eventually found less fun.

In conclusion, it seems to me that in order to make people buy their products, many businesses and advertisers exaggerate and mislead. In this way, they will lose more and more customers in the near future.