Write about the following topic:

Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

There is a fierce competition between countries to host international sports events like the Olympics and the FIFA world cup as it provides multiple opportunities to boost the international reputation of countries. In spite of these tremendous benefits, some people opine that countries should prioritise other key issues that affect their citizens rather than spend on hosting international sport events. I shall discuss both views in the following paragraphs, and afterwards, provide my opinion.

On one hand, patriotism is increased amongst citizens as they become proud of their countries when they appear in news headlines. Leaders are offered the opportunities to present winning prizes to athletes at the end of the games. A famous example is the FIFA world cup that was hosted by Brazil in 2005 which made the country so popular that they appeared in every newspaper or television. Additionally, citizens are motivated to play these sports locally, thereby, building potential sportsmen who volunteer to play for their countries. This creates a pool from which countries pick their best players to represent them at these tournaments.

On the other hand, there are risks of significant security threats that arise from by-opponents and terrorists who attend these events. Hence, hosting countries spend a lot of money deploying military forces to enforce security and protect their citizens. For instance, in 2005, Brazil spent over 25 million dollars securing their country during the FIFA world cup. Supporters of this opinion argue that these funds should, instead, be deployed in feeding the hungry citizens.

In conclusion, although I understand that it is costly to host international sports events, I believe it is more advantageous to both hosting countries and attending countries as it breeds international friendship, peace, and unity.