WRITING TASK 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Modern advancements have made our lives much convenient. However, a recent study admits that youngsters who spend excessive hours in front of computer screens are impacted in a more destructive manner than compared to its beneficial influences. I strongly agree that children need guidance and need to spend a limited amount of time on technology.

Millennials browse through a variety of search engines referring to the internet for information related to their homework and syllabus. This gives them the opportunity to access a number of topics simultaneously. Although this may seem quick and easy, it is hindering the pupils from visiting the library and inculcating habits such as reading books.

Moreover, children are getting accustomed to sedentary activities. There has been an exponential increase in the number of obese children who suffer health problems. For instance, young boys commonly indulge in computer games and avoid outdoor activities. Long hours spent in front of the screen often result in weak eyesight. This is not only affecting the fitness quotient, but also the mindset of a whole new generation.

In addition, inquisitive teenagers need to be dealt with caution. Their rebellious age provokes them to view adulterated content they come across intentionally or unintentionally. Parents must set time constraints on the usage of computers. Young individuals must be allowed only limited access to the internet. For examples, adolescents as they have tendencies to delve into distractions namely, fashion magazines and gossip blogs, which are harmful and a waste of time.

In conclusion, I suggest that youngsters must be encouraged to lead a well-balanced life. Awareness programs can be arranged by schools as a measure to inform their students about the merits and demerits of technology and their effects.