You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The 21st century is the era in which technology is enhancing rapidly. The need to write letters has been reduced to a minimum however now new methods of communication are preferred, Email, Fax, etc. Still, there are people out there who are keeping this tradition alive.

In this fast pace of time, we need quick methods of getting things done. The letter is considered as a slow means of communication however this form of communication has been replaced with emails. Back in days where people used to wait for days to receive a letter has come to end. This can be done through emails, just on a single click, a message is delivered to the recipient in seconds all around the world.

In this modern world, there are some people who still want to use traditional ways of communication. Writing a letter gives them a piece of satisfaction which they cannot get from email, the alternate fast way of communication. Email to some extent are not considered as safe means of conveying messages, these can be hacked and tempered. The letter gives us hard evidence, for example, Insurance companies still use letters as an alternate means of communication.

In the end, I will recapitulate by saying the modern world requires modern solutions. The time we are living in is advance, therefore, to cop up with it we need to use all the latest methods of communication. Writing a letter is considered an old fashion thing, this is a long slow process. This can be still used as a secondary means of communication but is not suitable as a primary method. Letters have been replaced with emails.