Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

technology is flourishing by leaps and bounds while transforming the ways how human beings communicate with each other. With the advent of internet, email and various other methods of communication many believe that writing letters has become obsolete. I widely agree with this statement as technology to connect with others is more to reliable and accessible to everyone.

Nowadays, people can connect to anyone in the world by just click of a button. The modern inventions in the field of telecommunication like mobile phones has brought the world closer, enabling many people to talk face to face using internet and applications on their phones. By using letters, one can express by words, nevertheless, video call feature in mobile phone has overcome this limitation. there are faster, reliable and convenient ways available to have conversations as compared to letters which takes days to reach out to the person and another few days to hear back the response. Furthermore, the possibility of losing a letter in midway or getting damaged is quite high as compared to the emails and text messages. Additionally, in the scenario of broadcasting messages to a group, writing letter to every person will be tedious and time-consuming. however, it is easily achievable using emails or any social media platforms.

modern ways of communication are being widely used by many people however, there are many organisations in various parts of the world that still rely on letters. For instance, it is mandatory for certain banks to have handwritten and signed application while closing or opening the bank account. several government agencies also prefer letters while filing complaint or grievances. many schools and universities prefer written application from students or their parents. Although the technology has become advanced, still several institutions require more time to adapt them.

To conclude with, modern communication has far more benefits as compared to traditional ways of writing letters and undoubtedly it will take the place in every field in the coming few years.