You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write abaut the following topic:

Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and

character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from

your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

Culture is generally known as a way of life. The way a person dresses might decipher their way of life and upbringing. This essay will discuss the effectiveness to predict an individual culture and character by their outlook with respect to the way they're dressed.

Civilization has brought different changes which are positive as well as negative, this includes greetings, norms, culture and clothing. In the early fifteen centuries, some certain tribes wear distinct outfit that tells a story, it could be a cloth to notify respect which is for a king or a cloth to identify them to a certain ethnic group or religion status. In the olden days, people can easily tell who an individual is by simply looking at their clothing. Taking Indians for an example, their outfits are long sari's with a scarf tied around their waist, they also have marks to differentiate married women from single ladies.

Recently, most individuals have eradicated certain practices out of their daily lifestyles either to conform or seek validation. Coperate organizations have dress codes and it would inappropriate to wear traditionals or local wears against the policy of the organization. This has made it difficult to guess the character or the background this individual is from. However, some companys make some certain days flexible allowing staffs to dress as they wish, although, most individuals feel out place wearing odd clothing so they would rather stick to norms.

Finally, migration and relocation as been detrimental in respect to an individual's clothing. There's a saying which states that "when in Rome you behave like the Romans", this translates to wherever you find yourself you abide with the conforment of the place. Indians, leaving in Iran would have no choice than covering up every part of their body and using head gears which aint part of their traditional dressing.

In conclusion, in the early days it is easy to tell people apart by the way they dress and how they relate to people, some tribes in the yoruba kingdom of Nigeria finds it mandatory to kneel when greeting an elderly person. This would look absurd doing this in an official gathering. In recent days it's almost impossible to tell a person culture or character by their choice of dressing.