Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Different schools of thought proposed that there should be generalized repacaution of similar types of offence. Although some school of thoughts contradicts this notion, and believes that circumstances which lead to offence committed should be taking into consideration. This essay will discuss both perspectives so as the writer's opinion.

To begin with, a standard punishment for certain crimes helps eradicate corruption, reasons because an individual can't influence or tamper with the already stated law. Moreover, generalized consequences brings about equality, this enables every individual to be aware of what repercaution to expect after engaging in illegal dealings, or inability to abide with rules and regulations.

On the other hand, having to know what led an individual to dabble into a particular offence brings about empathy. An individual may steal grocery due to insufficient money, however the person in question might have been a job seeker for a while without an improvement. It has also been heard of when specific individuals do what displeases them just to be validated by their peers. Late last year, a boy was caught while attempting to burglar a house after intensive investigation, it was found that he had to do it in order to join a notorious cultist group. If a standard ranking system for crime was used, not considering what led the boy to the theft, It's possible to have the same punishment for a wanted car thief for over a decade.

In as much as both perspectives has their pros and cons a more suitable punishment should be referred too. I would go with the school of thought that a generalized punishment should be adopted mainly because, It's open and stated in the law. Every committer of an offence would be aware of what awaits them irrespective of the situations that led them into it. This wont only inform the general public, but would as well reduce crime rate.