You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Internet among different people has become popular recently. It is therefore argued by some that display of personal information on the internet poses a great risk. However, in my opinion, I believe that the benefits of the internet such as getting employment offer as well as far outweigh the drawbacks that accompanies it.

Admittedly, posting of personal details on the internet has a lot of risk attached to it such as kidnapping and armed robbery. Some people are fond of giving out personal details on the internet such as their daily activities, place of work, family details which allows these fraudsters to have access to their details thereby using it against them. Take for instance, Evans a notorious kidnapper arrested recently by the Nigerian police, was asked how he gets information about his captives and to the dismay of the public, he admitted that 90% of the information are gotten from the internet and this gives him the idea of the amount of ransom demanded from their families.

Nonetheless, even though demerits of internet usage abound, I believe that the benefits of the social media cannot be overemphasize. Recently, a close friend of mine got a well paid job with a multinational company through LinkedIn a popular Job site, also internet helps to keep up relationships while connecting lots of people with each other, friends and relatives reunited together with social media.

In conclusion, even though a lot of risks involved in using internet such as armed robbery and kidnap, however, the benefits of internet by its users far outweigh its disadvantages.