You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Advertisement is a huge business and we come across at least one advertisement in our day to day life. People have different opinion regarding advertisements, some feel it keeps you updated with the latest product in the market and some feel they work as a catalyst in increasing your desire to buy new things which might not be useful. This essay will discuss why some people believe that advertisement encourages us to buy things we do not need.

Celebrities are hired to promote the product so that more and more people will buy it. It is easy for marketing companies to hire celebrity and promote their product as this has been a proven mantra for the success of the product. People easily get influenced by the celebrities they follow and tend to buy product even if they do not need. They believe if their favorite super star is using it they should also use it. For example, we have seen that beauty products are promoted by actress and actors. They claim that using them for few days will make us look beautiful, but that is not always true. Similarly we have seen many marketing firm use such kinds of trick to influence the people.

Information given in the advertisement is not applicable to everyone and has some terms and condition. These terms and condition are shown in a small font in the corner of the screen to save the product owners from any legal complications. For example, some food products claim in the advertisement that they are 99.99% natural and there is some hidden information on the screen which states that they also use natural chemicals that is 0.1% but can be very harmful. Such advertisement are not only false but also dangerous and we cannot take any actions as they are not violating any law but just using tricks to hide the information. Some information is hidden to influence people, which leads to people buying the product with assumption of it being natural.

I firmly believe that some advertisements are just to encourage people to buy products when they are really not required. Above paragraphs clearly mention how marketing firms hire celebrities and hide some information to influence more and more people to buy their product, people tend to buy it just based on the people promoting or false information provided.