Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation.

Why is this the case?

What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

It is evident that the youth of the current era is any day more potent and even influential than any prior generation. This essay will help to figure out as to, what are the reasons behind this development? And elucidate the influence this rising trend has on relationships between the younger and the older people.

The main reason behind the youth having so much control and impact on each and every aspect of life can be attributed to a liberal upbringing, compared to the youngsters of the past who were not allowed to express their feelings or emotions openly. Infact, their opinions were not even asked before taking major decisions about their life such as, Marriage, higher education or career paths etc. These kinds of decisions were indeed imposed on them. Whereas, today’s generation has a free say in and every matter. Be it their wrong or right decision, they are still loved and respected. This kind of autonomous environment has a bearing in making them all the more audacious and powerful. The second reason behind today’s youth being more impactful is because of higher levels of accessible world-class education as well as technological upliftment which promotes easy financial growth in a short period of time. In the present era many CEOs of big companies are far younger than those, of yesteryear. For example, the CEO of snapchat is Evan Spiegal is only twenty-eight years with a net worth of around two billion dollars.

The effect of this power and influence in the hands of the youngsters certainly is far more negative than positive. As there are comparatively only a handful reasons which would prove that so much might in the hands of the younger generation is more beneficial because youngsters being physically robust can influence the world in a right way, but by and large, it can be figured out that with the power coming in, the youth is becoming highly insensitive and even corrupt. Of late many Indian parents have faced the wrath of their children’s growth in power. For demonstration, In India the demand for old age homes has witnessed a visible rise, as so many parents have seen a change in their children’s attitude the moment they become rich and influential. This kind of lack of gratification and indifference, due to children’s dominance seems to have taken a toll of the child and parent relationship.

To summarize, the reason for the youngsters to getting powerful and impactful can be credited to the changing times and even high technological advancement. Although it seems to be creating a rift between two generations.