Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this. Explain the reason for this and discuss any possible effects it may have no society.

In recent years, it has been observed that family members have become less close with each other than it was in the last decade, owing to numerous reasons. In the following paragraphs, My aim in this essay would be to discuss vital reasons and further highlight its effects on the community.

Firstly, we are living in a consumerist society, people are working more and more to fulfill their desires. They have become so workaholics that they have no time for family. In addition, most parents in third world countries, nowadays, are sending their children abroad for higher education. It has proved from a survey that almost 40% of youngsters from developing countries are completing their tertiary education from renowned institutes of the developed world. So this kind of distance barrier has further been instrumental in creating rifts between parents and children. Secondly , technology craze has taken over the society. In the current era people have become so much addicted to social media and fake internet friends that they have forgotten the importance of a true family. Most people prefer to chat than to have a face to face quality interaction with siblings or parents. For instance, Facebook is the world’s most popular online social network and used by more than one billion people. so with the continuing trend it seems to take away the precious bonding time between the parent and the child

l

The above-mentioned reasons have a number of detrimental effects on the community. At first, it has weakened a bond between parents and children, thus involving a lot number of teenagers to taking up to drug addiction out of insecurity, proved by an annual survey conducted by a Control of Drug Addiction Association in a developing country. Secondly, psychiatrists have declared the fact that depression and loneliness, is a dominant issue of today’s world, leading to higher suicidal rate that it was in the last decade.

All of this being said, I believe that family members have fallen apart from each other in the current era, hence the community has to take corrective measure in order to rebuild its faith in the family institution.