Young people spend their free time in shopping malls. This has negative effects on young people and society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Having a social life has been an important aspect of human life in which modern day shopping malls play a key role and influence them to gather under one roof. A group of people thinks that it negatively affects youngsters, to which I also agree. The main reason behind my opinion is that firstly, it makes them materialistic and secondly, they make unnecessary expenditures causing various other problems for them.

To begin with, young people spend time in malls and get tempted by all the brands that are extremely expensive for them. Still, they buy those products even when they are unable to financially. For this, they put pressure on their parents who are already struggling to manage their budget, or borrow money from their friends. If both the options are unavailable, they end up indulging in activities like stealing out of desperation. For example, in a survey conducted by Times of India in 2018, it was found that 78% of teenagers who belonged to middle-class families were unhappy with their status, led a life of dissatisfaction and suffered from inferiority complex. Therefore, it is one of the major reasons behind my opinion.

In addition to this, when people visit malls, they tend to spend 3 to 4 hours in the premises. This creates a need to spend money on food and beverages, which is exploited by the authorities. To exemplify, generally it is observed that a food product like sandwich is sold inside the mall at a price that is three-folds more than what a person might spend at an outlet. As youngsters do not normally understand the pain of earning money, they spend their money without second thoughts with the motive to create a good image among the peers. Thus, in this way, their expenditure goes out of control.

To conclude, I would say that undoubtedly malls have brought a level of comfort to people, but it can have an adverse impact of youngsters by making them more inclined towards material and encouraging them to spend money on products for superficial objectives.