TPO41Do you agree or disagree Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays

The issue regarding whether teachers are appreciated and merited more nowadays than in the past has never failed to arouse public concern. Some people believe claim that teachers are more valued nowadays because they can teach students with more high-end technology, such as programming, using computer tools, and assembling robots. Perhaps as sound and attractive as their argument seems, it failed to be verified on further analysis. According, I advocate that teachers were more appreciated before than they are nowadays.

Firstly, the Internet makes teachers less useful nowadays. Due to the development of the network, increasingly, people are happy to share their own experiences and knowledge via the Internet. With the Internet, students can be educated through video websites, like Youtube, also they can acquire that knowledge more efficiently through the Internet. Therefore, teachers might be less useful to the students and be valued less nowadays. This point can be illustrated by a survey conducted by Tsing Hua University, which is the most famous university in China. According to the survey, about sixty percent of students have ever did not go to a lecture, because they can acquire this knowledge through the Internet more efficiently. Also, they can pass, and even get a high score on the final exam. Obviously, this survey may inform us that the teachers are less useful to the student.

Secondly, teachers become less focused on teaching now. To be more specific, in China, teaching is a well-paid job in the past, and almost all teachers concentrate on teaching. Teachers bring knowledge to the students, thus teachers were highly appreciated by society. And yet, nowadays, with the market enlarged, and the goods becoming more expensive, teachers' salary does not follow society, so they have trouble feeding themselves. They stop teaching during the class but after the class for the money. They ask the student's parents for money or teach nothing to the student. This point can be better and further supposed by the example from my little brother. He is in primary school now, his math teacher let student to study by themselves, since the teacher need to teach others for the money. Many parents, including his parents, worried that they can not follow the teaching process, pay more money to teachers for take a traditional class. Apperently, we can learn from this example that teachers are more focused on money today, not on teaching.

In conclusion, considering all the reasons and examples discussed above, we can safely say that teachers were less appreciated and valued by society nowadays than before, which could be definitely attributed to the two points -- the Internet and the teacher's action.