The ability to maintain friendships with small number of people over a long period of time is more important than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Friends are really a crucial part of our lives. Some people have ability to make many new friends while some believe in quality of friends rather than the quantity. I fall in the category who highly believes in making few friends but the real ones. I feel this way for two main reasons that I will be dealing further.

To begin with, little number of friends who have been with us for long period of time can be our companion during hard times. For me, friends are not only the people to share happiness. In fact, they play a major role in every aspect of life and even more during our bad days. In that context, making new friends is not going to help us during those times while our few real ones who have been with us for long time can be there in every ups and downs of life. My own experience can be a compelling example for this. Few years back I passed through a heartbreaking loss of a family member and almost got into depression. I had so many friends but I used to feel alone and depressed. Those time my school friend who has been with me for almost 10 years helped me to get over. Otherwise, I would have gone into depression even in the crowd of friends. Consequently, I realized being with a true friend is far better than being in crowd and feel lonely.

Secondly, the friend with whom we have a long relationship knows and understands us better. In fact, they understand us even better than ourselves sometimes. We can easily trust them and make decisions with their consult that makes a huge difference in life. Whereas, trusting and relying on the new or many people can be really harmful to us. As I mentioned above, my depression was causing a great obstacle in my decision making about whether to move onto university or start doing job. It was difficult for me to decide and no one understood my dilemma. But a friend who knew me from many years understood me quite well and suggested me to not waste time and apply for university. It helped me a lot as I graduated soon and found a better job.

In conclusion, I strongly from my own experiences believe in making few but quality of friends rather than quantity of them because they understand us better and we can rely on them for happiness and sadness equally.