A/D:It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.
Some favor being a generalist, believing one who dabbles in many subjects enjoys a
colorful career path. Surely, a broad spectrum of knowledge prompts one to experience a
variety of jobs, thus infusing new blood into an otherwise dull, monotonous life. Others,
on the contrary, prefer to be a specialist, declaring by delving into a certain area of specialty,
one is allowed to enjoy his narrow niche without much competition. In fact, I am assertive
that broad in-depth knowledge about multiple subjects, in contrast to well honed expertise
in a single field, is a superior selection.
First, a broad range of subjects, in many respects, supplements one with diverse add-on
skills, hence a kaleidoscopic career life. My classmate Alex, truly, is an excellent example.
As a French major, not only does he showcase superb language prowess, but also attains
a set of auxiliary skills via the various courses he takes during college years. Surely, his
good command of subjects like accounting and economics is a competitive edge, which
helps him to secure a foothold in Ernst & Young, a renowned international accountancy
firm. Besides, Alex’s near-native fluency in French also enables him to branch off into other
areas, offering him part-time jobs at language institutes or translation companies. In this
regard, one clearly notes being a dilettante, in a degree, provides one with numerous
career options, thus broadening his horizon.
Besides, broad peripheral knowledge of diverse subjects, in a corporate world, streamlines
routines and mitigates the burden. My uncle Bob, a simultaneous interpreter at a
prestigious translation agency, is a case in point. Because Bob is constantly asked to
interpret for high-end meetings, scientific forums or even international arbitration, he
needs to grasp a vast range of technical jargon or specialized knowledge in multiple fields.
However, since in his spare time, Bob demonstrates a keen interest in subjects like physics,
diplomatic affairs and so on, he often accomplishes tasks with much ease. Indeed, while
his colleagues are wrestling with long sheets of technical terms or facts, my uncle always
memorizes and understands them in a few workdays. In this sense, it can be argued that
a broad base of knowledge in various areas boosts efficiency at the workplace and
alleviates pressure.
By way of conclusion, I do think a person must know a wide range of academic subjects.
After all, a generalist with add-on specialties and broad knowledge about diverse fields are
more likely to survive in today’s world.