All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Undoubtedly, whether history course should be a compulsory or not is one of the most controversial topics in society, especially in my country. Students, professors and the government all stand for differing point of views. However, in the subsequent essay I will provide certain points why I disagree with the statement.

First and foremost, it is important to mention that students, who are not majoring in history or other fields that are somehow connected with it, will merely waste their time by learning something they do not really need for a successful career. In my opinion, concentrating on the vital things is much more beneficial. My friend’s experience is a compelling example of this. Currently, she is majoring at chemistry in the state university, which is considered to be one of the best educational institutes in the country. Despite the fact that she attends the science school, she was required to attend the history course. Even though this might sound well, my friend end up spending much more time on the remembering by heart historical events and dates, instead of gaining more profound understanding of her main subjects. As a result, her academic performance in the subject of chemistry lowered enormously, which is unacceptable for a science student.

In addition, modern educational system enables students to choose additional academic courses, which are not associated with their majoring program. This is an amusing opportunity for those, who have a broad scale of interests. Therefore, there is no need to cause more stress to others, who are not interested in history. For instance, my mum who is a history professor also confirmed that this system would be much more effective and even pleasant. According to her, even though she does her job great among those who chose liberal arts, most of the science students are seriously bored during her classes, as they did not apply for higher education in order to receive this kind of information.

However, it is worth mentioning that history is a vital subject for any well-educated and broad-minded individual. That is why it is decisive to do well in it in the secondary school.

In conclusion, even though I personally love this subject, that opens up to me more and more in various ways, I realize that not everyone is ready to spend their time and effort on it. This is specifically applicable for students majoring in science, who should mostly concentrate in their field and practice in laboratories.