A zoo has no useful purpose.

Throughout last centuries zoos were an extremely widely-spread source of entertainment for people. In the modern society, however, this has become one of the most controversial topics. I personally suppose that zoos have their both advantages and drawbacks.

First and foremost, I wholeheartedly believe that in the 21th century people should realize that animals also have rights and they should not remain in captivity for mere entertainment. Especially it is vital to note that, unfortunately, most of the zoos simply cannot or do not even want to afford maintaining favorable conditions for the animals. In the majority of the zoos and circuses animals have to survive in tiny cages without receiving proper care. For instance, during my stay in Japan I was sincerely excited to visit the distinguished Ueno zoo. Apparently, it is one of the world’s oldest and most famous ones. Nevertheless, observing the poor facilities wild animals, specifically monkeys, lived in I was really shocked.

In addition, it is worth mentioning that the situation is getting even worse, considering the obvious fact that zoos are primarily targeted for children. It cannot be denied that the behavior of large groups of them is virtually impossible to control. This results in children harming the environment of the zoo and distracting the animals’ peace. I have faced this type of attitude in my own life. I had an experience of volunteering at the local zoo. My responsibilities included feeding the animals and check their physical state daily. I mostly enjoyed it, besides one adverse factor. Sadly the children were never restricted by their parents and they ended up screaming at the aviaries, taking pictures with flashlight triggering an aggressive approach among some of the carnivores.

On the other hand, in terms of ecology and zoology, even natural habitats tend to be hazardous for its dwellers. Zoos can play a role of excellent shelters. There is a huge tendency for mammals to actually live much longer lives in the captivity.

To sum up, I generally substantiate that zoos are cruel sources of entertainment that sooner or later should be banned, as the preponderance of them do not meet appropriate requirements. However, unarguably they create safer conditions for them.