All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their study of field is.

As we all know, knowledge about history can bring lots of benefits to students, such as encouraging students or guiding them in the right way. Whether colleges should force students to attend history classes is always a topic. In my opinion, I think requiring students to join history classes may lead to general negative effects even with the benefits it brings, because it will bring extra pressure and be a waste of educational resources.

First, asking students to attend the courses may give them unnecessary pressure. Though history class is not their major, it will take students a lot of time and occupy the time they used to spend on their major, which makes them struggle with their field. People around me who major in computer science always spend all their time in the lab or library, therefore they can hardly even have time to make a haircut. However, in this situation, from my own point of view, forcing them to join a history class that will never help them in their study, seems very cruel. If this really happens, they would further decrease their sleeping time and therefore have negative effects on both their academic career and their mental health.

Second, it is a waste of educational resources to set up history courses for the huge abundance of students whatever their major is. Having courses means that universities should have tutors or teachers in the history area. There are two solutions. One is that asking the teachers who are already working in the universities to teach extra courses, and the other is hiring some other teachers. The first solution adds the workloads of teachers and therefore has an impact on their original courses, or they will ask for a higher salary. The second solution will cost more money to hire and pay their salary. All solutions need more money. Instead, this money can be saved easily by not setting up history courses and used in really meaningful fields.

Nonetheless, admittedly, students can benefit a lot by learning history classes, but they have already learned history courses in their earlier life. No matter in which country, history classes are always fundamental in high schools and primary schools. As a college student, I have learned history for ten years which already takes about half of my life. Also, students can know history knowledge in our daily life. I often make conversations about some historical events and if I'm not familiar enough with it, I will look it up on Google or Wikipedia. There are plenty of methods besides courses that we can get the knowledge of history and benefit from it. It is not necessary at all to specially set up a course.

To sum up, I think universities should not require history courses for all students.