All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Most people agree that history should be a mandatory subject for the entire number of students in university. Personally, I do believe that the mentioned course doesn`t play an important role on the formation of academic background. I am of this opinion for two specific reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, everyone learns about the history of their country or more in undergraduate classes in high school or lower grades. Hence, it might not be necessary to take further courses in a field that they are not interested. For example, If I was in the university, I wouldn`t want to learn more about the past. Today, I think I have gained enough knowledge based on the fact that since the last year of high school, I have had a history class each year where I obtained information not only about the past events of my country, but also of the whole world. Therefore, students who are not keen on, would be upset like me if their professors would expect from them to show interest on these topics.

Moreover, there is no denying that there is a plethora of requirements for undergraduate that seeks for hard work, patience and efforts. To be more specific, students of other fields are too busy with assignments, preparation for exams or presantions, that they do not need extra courses to loose their time. Moreover, there is a significant possibility that if their study degree is far away from history, they will probably fail. Consequently, this situation can affect the time of graduation. For instance, my personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. I remember in the final year of school when I studied Biology, the Evolution of plants subject was compulsory. I always considered it as not necessary and was concentrating in other subjects . It took me more time to prepare for the exam due to the fact that I was not interested on learning it. In addition, I did not managed to graduate on time and waited until next semester.

Taking everything into consideration, more concrete the stated arguments make me to think that the obligatory requirement of history courses in university is not acceptable. Even though someone might believe it is beneficial, I strongly put forth the idea that the disadvantages of providing these programs overweight the advantages for the reasons I have mentioned in the text.