Are parents good teachers?

I believe that in principle, the parents are relatively the best teachers for their children, if they are qualified enough for upbringing the children and being a good role model. However, this is not the case for all parents. Some of them are not only a good teacher, but also a bad role models. I will elaborate it in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the parents are the first care takers of the children. The children live with them during the infancy, childhood and adolescence. These are the critical stage of the children psycho-social development. Even though, the children will attend kindergarten and schools and would be under influence of the school teachers, caregivers of the kindergarten, but it is the parents that are the main source of securing emotional, social and financial needs of them. The children are dependent on them. The children love them and loved by them. So, the parents are the only people whose behaviors would be imitated, and learned by children. The school teachers are influencing the children but it is limited because of the time limitations and their limited interactions.

Secondly, since the children are born and raised in the family it is the parents who knows them better than anybody else. They know their children strength and weaknesses, their potentials, interests, capabilities and abilities. So, based on this knowledge of them, and their sensitivity and concerns on their children, they would try to be the best and right people to prescribe the methods of upbringing the children. For example, the teachers in schools are for only a certain and limited amount of time with the children, while the parents are always with the children.

The limitation of the parents as teachers: on the other hand, all of parents are not good role models, and teachers. Some of them are illiterate, some of them are not sensitive and are indifferent toward their children, some of them are addicted and with habits. Therefore, these parents not only are not good teachers, but also a bad role model.

Therefore, in principle the parents can be the best teachers, because they are the first and most important and influential role models, and their knowledge on their children strength and weaknesses and opportunities and limitations. However, all of the parents cannot be a good teacher, as they are not qualified for upbringing their children.