Why people attend college and university?

The people attend to a college and university for many reasons. However, from my point of view, there are three main reasons that explain why people attend university and college. The following paragraphs will elaborate and illustrate these reasons with examples.

First, nowadays high paid Job opportunities depends on college and university degrees. If one looks for a job, even in a small company, getting employed requires an advanced college or university degree. Most of the jobs nowadays are complicated than before, that requires advanced academic and professional education, training and skills. Without these educations and training it is not possible to meet the requirements of the jobs.

The rate of unemployment is also high in most countries around the globe, so there is a competition in employment in a high paid job, and even in all jobs. An advanced college and university degree will the person succeed in this competition for employment.

Second, attending in a university or college provides a good opportunity for networking. Today a good and efficient network is of quite importance for finding a good job through the network that one can establish during studying in a university and college. You meet many people in the universities including the professors, students and others who would help you find good job and enrich your networking opportunity. Nowadays most of the universities are leading the projects that one can find employment in. I have a friend who find a good job in one of the university project. And then he found new employment opportunities through working in that project and this network.

Third, Universities and colleges are the only institutions that produces high quality and up-to-date knowledge and information in all areas of human knowledge through carrying out researches. An advance level of knowledge that are obtained in university and college will allow a person to understand the world events and natural phenomena. This an absolutely personal reason for some people.

Forth, some people attend to university and college for its prestige. Obtaining an advanced university and college degree would enhance one’s social status among her/his peers. This could be the case in most cultural settings that acknowledge the value of knowledge and culture.

In conclusion, attending university and college facilitate finding a good job with high salary, provide networking opportunity, update the knowledge and information of the attendee and finally is prestigious and enhance the person social status.