It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

I think both books and experiences give knowledge that is useful for everybody in his/her daily life and professional life. However, there are differences between knowledge that is obtained from books and knowledge that is gained from experiences. Both are of critical importance, but my personal impression is that the books give more useful knowledge that help people in their real and daily life. I will present the reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the books contain the results of the experiences of others who have been in similar or different situations. In fact, the books are the records of the experiences of the writers and those that the books tell about them. For example, the book, “How to Win Friends and Influence People”, that is written by Dale Carnegie, is full of experiences and knowledge gained by others in their life. So, this book is a collection of the experiences and knowledge that I can rarely gain them in the real life.

Second, the books are usually carefully written and compiled. Some of the books are records of experiments and some of them records of the people observations. These sort of knowledge are valuable, because they are carefully written and looked from diverse angles the experiences or the knowledge that they recorded. On the other hand, personal experiences which lead to knowledge usually are not carefully observed. There are aspects that might be neglected or overseen by the person. For example, I have written many texts but have noticed the errors and mistakes. While the editor has notified me of the errors.

Third, the books contain knowledge that is acquired by a great number of people in different situations and settings. Therefore, they could be a good resource and reference for extracting theories and even principles as guidelines for any actions. An example for this is “Seven Habits of Highly Effective People” written by Covey. The book is based on the real experiences of the people, those who have been highly effective in various settings. The author has extracted certain practical principles as guidelines for any actions to be successful.

Although, I acknowledge that the knowledge gain by personal experiences are valuable, but the life and scope of one person experiences are limited. So that, the knowledge gain through this sort of experiences are limited. For example, my friend has studied economics and works for three years as consultant in the areas related to economy. However, she has worked in an only one area and live in small town and had interactions with a limited number of people. It is difficult to generalize this knowledge and use it in other settings.

In conclusion, both sets of knowledge gained from experiences and books are important references for one’s action, however, the books provide better and more useful knowledge than experiences. Even though the books are records of the experiences. This is due to firstly books are records of experiences, second, these records are carefully written and observed, thirdly, this knowledge are obtained from various angles because they are records of many people experiences, and finally, these records allow to extract theories and principles as guidelines for any actions.