In areas where there are

many restaurants, some people prefer to buy their meals in restaurants very frequently, rather than

cooking and eating meals at home. Other people prefer to cook most of their meals at home and

only rarely eat in a restaurant. Which one would you choose and why?

There are certainly both pros and cons of eating outside. To me, however, its advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Cooking is a time consuming process and the result may not be as good as restaurant’s food; plus in contrast with most of the people’s believes, cooking at home could be more costly than buying prepared meals.

T begin with, I am a university student and I don’t have much time to cook. Cooking at home is not only the process of mixing together the ingredients and let them cook; it consists ingredients shopping, washing and sanitizing them, chopping and finally using them in a meal. Plus if we don’t use the ingredients for a while, they might get corrupted. As a result, cooking at home can not be fast; it can take a whole day. Despite the fact that it might be enjoyable and gratifying to some people , to me it is just a mundane chore that take time and energy and leaves no time left to study.

Furthermore, I don’t know how to cook. I have been living on my own for two years, yet I don’t know how to cook except for some very simple foods. At the first year of my university and also away from my family, I had a roommate and we divided the house chores and expenses. I was in charge with weekend foods. At first I tried to cook myself because that time I only knew some fancy restaurants in town which were really expensive, but the result was really disappointing; the meals became whether spicy or blend. Despite of my several tries, no improvement was achieved. Finally, after causing a little fire in the kitchen, I realized that I have absolutely no flair for cooking and it is for the best of ourselves to give up home made food.

In summary, according to my experiences and efforts I invested on cooking, I discerned that cooking is a waste of energy, time and money for me; thus I ease myself by buying foods.