Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universe is changing all the time, and so as people's life style. Nowadays, people are swamped in their jobs more than any other time. Personally, I believe people care less about their leisure time and they spend an abundant amount of their time on their works. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, as the world continue to develop, it gets harder to keep up with pace of changes. Nowadays, everything is intricated and adjusting to them takes time and effort. Therefore, people have to put more time and endeavor to make progress. This will be followed by a turbulent hectic life style which professional career is a paramount part of it. My father is a compelling example of this. Although he was married and he had two children, he had to work till late and his job was always his priority. To some extent, he had no other choice, as he had to fulfill his boss's requests, otherwise he would have got expelled. In consequence of all that, my parents' marriage failed when I was ten. On the other hand, my grandfather, who have six children, managed to work and run his family at the same time. Hence, I believe it was easier in the past.

Another significant reason which is worth telling is that people's target and priorities have changed a lot compared to old time. In the past, people used to work and try to support their family and they did not have longing for promotion or raise in salary, as long as they could meet their family needs. These days, however, the ultimate target is integrity. People want to be the best of themselves and they see success in their profession or education, not in maintaining a family. Thus, most people have propensity to sacrifice so many things and even spend their free time on their jobs. For instance, when I went to my grandparents and stayed at their home for summer. My grandfather used to stay at his shop for regular hours, and everyday he was home by five o'clock. On the other hand, right now that I am a grown up and I have a job, I can't leave sooner than eight. Moreover, I sometimes even work at my weekends. As a result, I don't think today's people can shirk their duties and enjoy themselves more, since they see success virtually in their career.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that due to the hectic life style most people lead, and their eager for success in their career, they are overwhelmed and less likely waste their time on enjoying themselves.