Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

It is critically important for the people nowadays to learn how to adapt to this ever-changing world and take advantage of advents and innovations. Although it has been argued that in the past people were more satisfied with their lives, I firmly believe that people can live a comfortable life if they know how to benefit from this modern world.

First of all, all people need to communicate with others in order to fulfil their innate desire for socializing. Fortunately, by advent of new communicational devices, building and retaining relationships is much more easier than the past decades. For instance, smart phones enable humans to contact with their friends and family members from distance. I am reminded of last year when I had to travel to China for business purposes. After two weeks in China, I felt extremely homesick, but I soothed this feeling by making video calls with my family. In addition, people can make friends in social media through some applications which are specifically for dating or finding friends. As a result, human can take advantage of these modern communication facilities and fulfil the innate desire of interacting with people.

Furthermore, nowadays education has been accessible for all people, while in the past decades people had not access to education in rural areas; therefore, now people can benefit from education and further their knowledge and skills. A University of Tehran study revealed that well-educated people are more satisfied from their lives than the illiterate. Researchers studied two group of people: a group of people in an academic environment and a group of people who were poorly educated. By interviewing two groups, asking about their routine and evaluating their social interactions, researchers ascertained that well-educated people have set short-term and long-term goals that provide them with a meaning of life and stimulate them in their daily life. Consequently, improvement of education infrastructure caused people to educate better and feel more satisfied than past decades.

It is fair to conclude that nowadays people are more happy and satisfied with their lives. This is because technology facilitated the communication, and because education is more accessible for people nowadays than in the past.