Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays education of children is a matter of great concern to the parents since it directly affects the future of their children. In recent years, technology has improved in a rapid pace and provided the human with a vast number of modern devices. Although, many parents believe that these new advents are an obstacle to the education of children, I firmly believe that parents and children can take advantage of these new innovations in technology.

First of all, students can benefit from cell phones to strengthen their academic background. A vast amount of course materials and a wide assortment of online classes are available in the World Wide Web that can boost the academic performance of students. Indeed, parents are responsible to guide their child through using these online materials. For instance, I remember when I was at elementary school, I had problem in adapting to the teaching method of my teacher. My parents helped me to overcome my problem by providing me with a smartphone and an internet access by which I downloaded some electronic books written by adept mathematics teachers. In this way, I learnt new methods for solving mathematical problems and passed the school exams. As a result, modern technology can ease the process of learning for children and help them to have access to a lot of useful academic materials.

Furthermore, children can get rid of stress or exhaustion caused by studying through video games and other modern entertainments. Playing video games helps children relax after taking an exam and recovers their mind to function better in further studies. A recent research conducted in the University of Tehran’s faculty of psychology revealed that students who play video games in their free times are more prone to achieve good results in school than others. The researchers studied a group of students who were used to attend a game club after every exam. They didn’t show any signs of stress or exhaustion before exams. This happened because they used to take pleasure of playing games with friends and in this way, they would boost their energy to succeed in later exams. Consequently, results of the research proved that playing video games in a limited time not only helps the students to alleviate stress but also boosts their academic performance.

It is fair to conclude that children can take advantage of modern advents and entertainments to improve their academic performance.