When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Teamwork is of the great importance to the academic projects because sometimes teachers assign projects that require collaboration of a group of students. Many students believe that working and learning is best done in a group setting, while many others prefer to work alone. I concur with the former group of students because of two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First of all, students can exchange their ideas with their teammates when they are working collaboratively. Not all students have the same point of views toward the solving the problem; therefore, they can take advantage of this diversity of attitudes for tackling problems. Indeed, solving an academic issue in an assignment or class project entails hours of thinking and testing different methods; thus, cooperating and consulting with other students can ease the process of solving. When several students propose different solutions, the problem is liable to be solved by at least one of those solutions, although some of solutions might not work. For instance, I was assigned to carry out an academic project in the Mechatronics laboratory when I was at sophomore year of my undergraduate studies. I was supposed to accomplish that project in a group so that I could ask for help and advice from other students to overcome the challenges of the project in a short time. Had I not asked for help from other students, I would have not ended the project in such short time.

Furthermore, students can correct each other's mistakes when they work together. To be more specific, all students are prone to make mistakes, but not all students make the same mistakes. Therefore, students can mention their teammate's mistake and prevent future faults. On the other hand, when a student is working alone, he is liable to repeat his mistake several times because there is no one to warn him and correct him.

It is fair to conclude that working in a group can help students to learn more effectively than working by themselves. This is because they can both exchange their opinions and correct each other's mistakes during a teamwork.