The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Creativity is a mean of doing artworks. Some may argue that it is a hard process and must be done by geniuses. But when you come to analyze that, you realize that the source of their inspiration is somewhat simple and commonplace. I would like to elaborate my answer for two reasons.

First, designers are people who understand people's needs and think of better ways to respond them. Their inspirations, however, are from ordinary happenings surrounding us from our ordinary lives. Take a spoon, for example; it has a simple design. However, it meets our needs perfectly. For instance, when someone goes to a restaurant, they would found a different set of spoons similar to their orders. If they order soup, they would have to have it by a rather larger spoon with a deeper basin to maintain a large amount of liquid mixture to sip in one round. Another example would be a teaspoon, that is more delicate and lesser capacity to hold hot tea or hold a small amount of sugar to add to beverages. You could see that these designs may look simple, but they fulfill our needs efficiently.

Second, famous writers usually have a well-written book that attracts lots of people. They maybe write simply, but their true masterpieces are the concept and the philosophy they put in their works. Take Charles Dickens for instance. He is a great writer who lived in The United Kingdom around the 18th century. He raised a poor family and endured many toils and hardships in his life. Therefore he was completely aware of the harsh situation of his society. He wrote many books to criticize the cruel situation of the poor in his era, and his books went viral. Many people from all over the world read his book and sympathized with his characters since he wrote them very distinctly and believable. I read most of his books many years ago, like Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, Great Expectations and many other of his works, and I really in love with his works and remember them vividly. It's like I once lived with those characters and had memories of them. That's a simple example of how common and tangible experiences could inspire great artists to create magnificent works.

Creating is a mysterious process that some may think it is impossible to do. But as I mentioned with examples, it is not as hard as people think it is. The inspirations for masterpieces are everywhere in plane sight. Whether it is designing an insignificant spoon, or writing a life-changing novel. Those who like to make a difference by creating novel things should watch their surroundings with more care and attention. The next inspiration for an innovative artwork may lie somewhere near them without noticing.