The best way to reduce air pollution is for the government to raise the cost of fuel

Currently, due to the serious environmental problems confronted with us, both the individuals and the authority attach more importance to the protection of the environment. Some citizens reckon that in order to inhibit air contamination, the government is supposed to enact some policies to raise the cost of fuel. While others suggest that other effective measures, such as awaking the public’s awareness, ought to be imposed. Personally speaking, I cannot concur with the opinion of raising the price of fuel and my opinion can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, what this measure takes is mere the mounting financial burden on city dwellers. Concretely, nowadays, people’s living qualities have been upgraded owing to the development of technology and people are used to the convenient lifestyle. Therefore, the increasing price of fossil fuel fails to prevent them from benefiting from different kinds of devices driven by fossil fuels, like private cars, water-heater and so on. Due to their insistence on using these fossil energies, their family finance will suffer, instead of reducing their use of fossil fuels. Worse still, provided that the price of coals continuously increases, which goes beyond people’s purchasing power, people are likely to harbor resentment toward the authority and this will evidently harm to the harmonious relationship between the regimes and citizens.

What’s more, it is imperative for the government to take more effective and firm measures to deal with serious problems. Initially, the government is responsible for implementing some policies to offer preference to the science-oriented enterprises. Specifically, at the aim of prohibiting some industries emitting exhaust fumes into the atmosphere, the authority must stimulate them to shoulder their responsibility of environment protection, hence enacting the policy of levying higher taxes on those industries involved with severe air contamination and offer preference to the enterprises developing in eco-friendly approaches enables to guide companies to develop in accordance with the theory of sustainable development. In addition, as the old saying goes, every a little makes a mickle, the individual’s strengths should not be ignored. Obviously, the regime is capable of awaking public’s awareness of environment protection by delivering books or scripts to them, which not only enlarges citizens’ knowledge about the environment but also enables them to have a rough comprehension of the importance of environment protection. With the knowledge and awareness erected by the government, citizens are able to make joint efforts to reduce contamination. For instance, they can reduce their use of private cars to avoiding intensifying haze, they can prefer to use the electronic devices which are qualified for the environmental standards or they can diminish their uses of non-biodegradable plastics. From what has been mentioned above, there are a bunch of effective measures can be taken to address the issues of environment protection.

Admittedly, raising the cost of fuel probably reduces people’s propensity of purchasing it, however in the long run, since people’s desires of utilizing these energies are not diminished, this measure is doomed to fail to control the problem of air pollution.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, there are a couple of measures that are more effective than raising the cost of fossil fuels, like implementing preferred policies to encourage enterprises to develop in a eco-friendly approach, raising individuals’ awareness and so on, therefore the reduction can be achieved by the concerted efforts made by people from all walks of lives.