Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Earth has been enduring plenty of environmental problems, especially pollution. There is an idea that increasing the cost of fuel will be the greatest method that all governments can apply. I cast doubt on this assumption, I strongly advocate that this idea will not work in several situations which I will list below.

To begin with, there is a theorem that when trying to ban something from humans, there will be a way to overcome it. This means that if the governments increase the cost too much, rich citizens might afford it but the poor people do not so that these poor people will try many ways to smuggle the low-cost fuel in order to consume it. This also created protests among social levels. Besides this bad effect, this strategy just has one advantage is that people will have a tendency of using public transportation due to the high price of fuel. This implies that there will be less carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere.

Another strange thing that increasing the cost of fuel brings is that this action nearly does not solve any problem in society. There is a suggestion that the government should invest the money into inventing and operating renewable energy. With many sources of renewable energy; solar, wind, hydropower; it will be more friendly to the environment rather than using fuel. Furthermore, this energy is created without greenhouse admission which means that it will reduce bad air pollution. With this investment, the governments not only solve the environmental problems but also create jobs for many unemployed people.

All things considered, increasing the cost of fuel just reduces the small amount of carbon dioxide in the air. To solve the air pollution, all the governments need to invest in renewable energy in order to have a fresh habitat to live in the far future.