A leader should have strong opinions and not change his or her opinions

Currently, there is an increasing number of individuals attaching more importance to the leadership aptitude, thus a heated discussion about whether a leader should have strong opinions and not change his opinions has been triggered. Opinions vary widely, some individuals reckon that since leaders’ strong mind can lead the whole team to achieve success, this merit is a prerequisite for a leader. While others contend that a stubborn leader is harmful to the team’s development. Personally speaking, I concur with the latter opinion for the reasons as follows.

To start with, due to the limit on personal aptitude, a leader cannot always make wise decisions, therefore their insistence on their own decisions is likely to result in failure. To be more specific, initially, as a leader, he or she usually has knowledge specialized in one domain, but the decisions are often intertwined with diversified fields. Therefore combining knowledge with subordinates constitutes a stepping stone in the team’s success. In addition, sometimes the constraints on personal energy also give rise to unwise decisions. With numerous tasks confronted with the leaders, they are likely to fail to take all factors into consideration, which makes what they come up with is with flaws. Therefore, owing to the limitation on personal aptitude and energy, it is not reasonable that a leader ought to be stubborn with his or her opinions.

What’s more, a leader, who is willing to communicate with subordinates, is capable of reinforcing team spirits. Concretely, provided that a leader listens to subordinates’ suggestions, those employees will find their values and feel respected. Although those suggestions are not admissible, a leader’s attitude toward them plays a vital role in strengthening relationships between them, which stimulates employees to make concerted efforts to make more contribution to the group. The research conducted to evaluate subordinates’ willingness to work for groups demonstrates that 78% individuals show their preference for working with an open-minded leader since they can be rendered with the sense of involvement, especially when their suggestions are put to practice. While those people, who now are working with obstinate leaders, have the propensity that they just follow their regular rules instead of making the extra commitment toward groups, which evidently stifles both employees and groups creativity. This research verifies that a leader holding his or her opinions tightly tend to exert detrimental effects on teamwork by hurting relationship in groups.

Admittedly, sometimes a leader is supposed to insist on his or her opinions. For instance, when the group is confronted with a crisis and everyone get frustrated, the leader should utilize his or her function of encouragement, that is to say, the leader ought to stand out and put the team forward, which ensures the possibility of the team to bring back to life. Nevertheless, since it merely plays an essential role in a specific situation, the perks of a stubborn mind are outshone by the merits of an open mind.

In a nutshell, a team leader should behave with an open mind to ensure the decisions he makes is wise enough and maintain the harmonious relationship with subordinates.