The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Encouragement helps a great deal in bringing up any quality. A positive feedback can boost the moral to a great extant. However, I think pointing negative once also very crucial.

A holistic teaching approach target both positive and negative actions.

Praising definitely helps in certain ways. People always feel more motivated, entrusted when they get positive feedback by other people specially from mentor. for example, when student learn something difficult and if he/she gets praise for doing that, then student feels more energetic and enthusiastic. Also when teacher praise a student for good work, other students also gets motivated and do something better. When a person start new tasks in life then praising helps in building the confidence. one more example is when someone start learning car than if someone praise his positive actions during the ride then person feel more confidence and do less mistakes. Without such motivation factors, people gradually lose the interest.

In contrast, ignoring the negative once is not a good approach. Only praising may develop overconfidence and may reduce learning ability. for example, a student may be assiduous. however, he may not a polite and friendly with other students. He could be boorish with others. In this case it is important to praise the student for his knowledge but at the same time it is important to teach him how to behave. When a negative action passed by blind eyes then doer think that action was correct and lead to more worst actions. for example if one student is continuously achieving good grade but not completing his/her assignment on time then it is necessary to point out this mistake. Good grade cannot be justify poor work. sometime people start thinking that their positivity is able to cancel the negativity.

Constructive criticism and praising both should be persuasive reason so that doer will remember the actions result. furthermore, they will able to explain the same to other people. It is necessary to explaining the consequence of the action along with praising or criticizing.

So the best way of teaching is praise the positive action and also pointing out the negative once with notifying them about chain of consequences.