Do you agree or disagree? Asking children to work in small groups is the best way to teach young children.

On the topic of proper and productive adolescent cognitive and emotional development, group activities and organizations are some of the most fundamental and thus, essential points of contention, be these groups small or large. In the following essay, I will present my viewpoint on whether having children assemble in groups, works towards “teaching”, a word which I will assume mainly encompasses social behavior development, them in a satisfactory way or not.

In congruency with countless research studies conducted on the issue and the evidence-based, dangerous implications and effects of loneliness on a still-developing human brain, I wholeheartedly agree with the notion of asking children to work with their friends towards a common assignment is essential to acquiring the skills necessary for them to flourish in the later stages of their lives. Humans are, after all, social creatures and will inevitably have to function in a society with many moving parts and set-in-stone responsibilities not only for the individual, but also for groups. To this end, what better time to teach a person the importance of teamwork, cooperation, giving and receiving constructive criticism and a plethora of other infinitely prominent life skills via team assignments, than when their cognition is most responsive to new information?

Another aspect that group assignments emphasize by nature, is the focus on the individual, particularly communication and appropriate etiquette when dealing with others while working on a common objective. Upon being put in a socially engaging situation, any person must know how to conduct themselves in order to reach his or her desired outcome. As said before, us humans usually find ourselves in more social situations. Learning how to communicate our needs as well as expectations accurately and respectfully is best done using group assignments from a young age.

Ultimately, it is the collective of lone entities that make up a group and these groups form our societies and unless correct behavior in the form of collective group assignments is not given, aforementioned crucial life skills cannot be taught and will not take root in a child’s mind. Therefore, the absence of team projects can be construed as an injustice to children enrolled in any education program, as they will undoubtedly be improperly equipped to deal with the hurdles that life will put in their way to success.