Do you agree or disagree: the best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel.

Our world has undergone dramatic transformations during the recent decades, tackling number of deleterious ecological problems. Granted, virtually all countries are concerned with global hazardous threats, but few of them manage to successfully handle the environmental problems and mitigate the harms caused to the nature. Though there have been developed various methods to save our nature, I am strongly of the conviction that one of the best ways is to increase the price of fuel. I feel this way for some discernible reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent body paragraphs.

To commence with, today for the operation of most vehicles, which are the main cause of the environmental pollution, fuel is a crucial ingredient. Therefore, by rising the price of the fuel, the country will significantly diminish the number of cars on the streets. Moreover, it will become unreasonable and not appealing for people to have their own vehicles, as they will realize that it will back on them an arm and a leg. Let us take my own country as a compelling example of this. In Armenia the government has rejected to make the price of fuel more affordable, as it has the vision that in such a scenario there will be a boom in the number of cars in the country. As a result, our fresh air, parks and population’s health will suffer greatly. However, today in my country, in fact, the threat of pollution is negligible mainly due to the few number of cars and traffics.

In addition, harmful though, fuel is for the environment, it still remains the primary source of energy in the whole world. But when the price of fuel will be increased, people will definitely start to seek other alternative sources to get energy from. For instance, if this happens, humanity will switch from fuel-consuming cars to eco-friendly electronic cars, or will start to use natural renewable energy sources such as the power of wind, water and sun. Unlike fuel, power stations and solar panels are of no harm to the environment. Therefore, in this case, global warming will also be harnessed, as fuel is the main source of greenhouse gases. Moreover, I can vehemently declare that alternative types of energy will cost them much less than conventional fuel energy.

In the light of the aforementioned reasons, I will claim that cutting down the use of fuel by increasing its price will be the half battle of fighting the ecological problems.