Many people have learned a foreign language in their own country; others have learned a foreign language in the country in which it is spoken. Which is better?

‘’The more languages you know, the more of a person you are’’. Espousing this adage and grasping its essence a lot of people in this day and age opt for learning as many languages as they can. However, for the majority of them the learning process is rather strenuous. That is why, they try to find different ways to learn a language in an effective and short period, and one of them is to visit the country in which the particular language is spoken. When it comes to me, I strongly believe that this is the best technique to reach the desirable level in a very short period. I will explore the reasons bellow.

First of all, being in a particular country alongside learning the language spoken there gives you that great opportunity to practice your knowledge. Personally thinking, it is totally sufficient to learn only basic grammar structures and then practice and improve them by speaking to native people. When you are speaking to indigenous people, no matter how many mistakes you are making, you gradually start to feel the language and autonomously correct your mistakes. For example, my friend, who was not doing well in English at all, went to the USA by an exchange program and very soon he was able to speak quite fluently and like a native speaker.

Secondly, the language spoken in its country is not completely the same as the one taught in the books. People usually state that the text-books used by teachers are not useful if you want to advance in your language skills. It is mainly because books teach only basic structures and not the features of that language. For example, if you go to the country which language you are learning you will definitely find yourself in an awkward situation, as you have no idea what this or that idiom or slang means. Moreover, you will not be able to catch up with their speed of speech and grasp the ideas.

Thirdly, when you are surrounded with native speakers and you speak a lot to them, without worrying about your mistakes, you gradually start to think in that language, rather than translate from your native language. My experience is a compelling example of this. When I was learning English at middle school, I always had to translate my thoughts from Armenian into English, to answer the questions asked by my teacher. But, as soon as I started to study TOEFL and my TOEFL teacher banned me to speak in my native language, I felt that I was beginning to think in English without any need of translation.

To sum up, due to the explanations mentioned above, I am strongly of the opinion that the most effective way of learning any language is to travel to country it is spoken in, as it a chance to practice the language skills every day, to learn the country’s vernacular and start to think in that language.