Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Would you prefer to take courses taught by professors with whom you have already had other classes during your past years of study, or would you prefer to take courses with professors whose classes you have never taken before? Why?

Which course should I take is a very common problem that will occur during the period of selecting course. Even though I do not consider there is a contradition between taking course of familiar profossor and strange professor, my experience and blief on academic have led to me choose the course taught by professor I have taken other classes before.

To begin with, despite the fact that every professor have the academic ability to operate the research. it does not mean that all the professors are good at teaching or instructing students. By the current rule of university, they can become professor only because of the ability of doing research but not teaching. Consequently, choosing the familiar professor can aviod the risk of taking a terrible class which may cost a lot of time without learing anything. Taking my experience for example, I chose a class that set by a famous professor on my first year of college and extremely regrot this decision because the professor taught nothing but just require us to read some books and do the assignment. This example indicates that a professor with fabulous research results does not represent that he or she is a good teacher as well.

Additionally, I hold the belief that academic training concerns about the context. If you have interest on certain topic, you should follow a professor researching in this field. The knowledge, information and experience that held by the professor are impossible to capture by only one class. For instance, I was interested in digital sociology and eager to operate a small project on my own. As a result, I found a professor that mastering in this field and selected all the courses he taught. Eventually, I not only gained a plenty of knowledge and the research methods from the professor, but also became familiar with him, and thus asked him to instruct my project.

Given these two reasons, I believe I showed the reason why I will take this decision. It is not to said that taking a class with professor I do not know is without merits. However, I believe I have sustained my point of view.